Cool Hawaiian Bridal Shower Facebook Ev

Officers & Members

On January 15, 1908, on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C., nine brilliant students established the illustrious sisterhood of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority (AKA). The nine women, led by Ethel Hedgeman Lyle, dreamed of a support system for like-minded women. The nine students worked together  formed the first African American Greek letter organization for college-educated women. The visionaries established a sorority that would be of service to all mankind by giving back to the community.

Five years after its beginnings, on January 29, 1913, under the guidance of Nellie Quander, AKA became a perpetual membership by gaining its incorporation in the District of Columbia.

Over a century later, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, is proud of its 986 undergraduate and graduate chapters in 50 states, the District of Columbia, the U.S. Virgin Islands, the Bahamas, Germany, Africa, South Korea, Japan, Liberia, and Canada.

Since its humble beginnings AKA has continued to flourish both domestically and globally. Alpha Kappa Alpha has more than 265,000 college-trained members, bound by the bonds of sisterhood and empowered by a commitment to servant-leadership.

As Alpha Kappa Alpha continues to grow, it has maintained the focus of the founders in two key areas: lifelong personal development of each of its members and remaining at the forefront of effective advocacy and social change for the world.

Executive Committee

President, Tina Wilson Alleyne

Vice President, LaQuine Duran

Secretary, Angela Armstead-Foye 

Assistant Secretary, Vickie Osborne

Treasurer, Tracy Tawiah

Assistant Treasurer, Dorthea Green

Financial Secretary, Teresa Encarnación

Assistant Financial Secretary, Deborah Williams

Corresponding Secretary, Tennille Erby

Hostess, Ann Allen

Keeper of the Door, Agnita Williams

Parliamentarian, Schniqua Roberts

Ivy Leaf Reporter, Arphelia Cabell

Historian, Ashley Frazier

Chaplain, Aldena D. Copeland

Program Initiative Chairmen

Target 1: HBCU for Life: A Call to Action, Hajja Sahid-Hicks

Target 2: Women’s Healthcare and Wellness, Felicia Thomas

Target 3: Building Your Economic Legacy, Christina Brown

Target 4: The Arts!, Elizabeth Lane-Stevens

Target 5: Global Impact, Sharon Miller-Johnson

Standing Committee Chairmen

Audit Committee, Abigail Roddie Hamlin

Awards, Joyce Glasby 

By-Laws Committee, Crystal Barney

Connection Committee, Agnita Williams

Executive Committee, Tina Wilson Alleyne

Finance Committee, Tracy Tawiah

Fundraising Committee, Konawetish Renee Fields

Nominating Committee, LaQuine Duran

NPHC- Harford Alumni Council, Maria Gray

Hospitality Committee, Ann Allen 

Leadership Development, Shakera Lambert Atkins

Membership Committee, Trene Nicole Roberson-Smith

Program Committee, LaQuine V. Duran

Protocol Committee, Tiffany Cooper

Publicity Committee, Arphelia Cabell

Risk Management, Schniqua Roberts

Rituals Committee, Patricia Bouknight-Hamilton

Scholarship Committee, Traciann Craig-Ferguson

Sisterly Relations, Vickie Osborne

Standards Committee, Deirdre Sumpter

Technology Committee, Ashley White

Chapter Members


Charter Member

Life Member

Golden Member

Silver Member


Crystal Adams

Ann Allen

Tina Wilson Alleyne 

Rori Alston

Tracey Alston

Angela Armstead-Foye • 

Trifinia Ashmon

Crystal Barney • 

Patricia Bouknight-Hamilton • 

Lydia Brennan

Christina Brown

Arphelia Cabell

Doris Carey   

Kathleen Carter

Helen Chapman 

Tiffany Cooper

Aldena Denise Copeland 

Traciann Craig-Ferguson

Kim L. Davis

Cailen Demby

Bobbie D. Dickens 

Richaun Dickens

LaQuine Duran • 

Celestine Duvall 

Ellen L. Edmonson

Teresa Encarnación 

Tennille Erby

Konawetish Fields

Lisa D. Fisher

Gyleen Fitzgerald

Ashley Frazier

Joyce Glasby • 

Maria Gray

Doretha Green • 

Priscilla Hollman

Candice Jones

Shakera Lambert-Adkins

Elizabeth Lane-Stevens

Carolyn McGee

Taylor Melton

Sharon Miller-Johnson

Agnes Minor

Christina Monroe

Monique Nunes

Vickie Osborne

Valerie Outlaw

Barbara Payne

Maxine Reed-Vance

Rhonda Rhynes

Trené Roberson-Smith

Schniqua Roberts 

Candace Rock

Abigail Roddie-Hamlin  

Hajja Sahid-Sanoh

Kimberly Stevenson

Deirdre Sumpter

Daisy Tawiah

Tracy Tawiah

Felicia Thomas

Kimberly Walton

Hope Webster

Danielle Wheeler

Ashley White

Agnita Williams

Deborah Williams

Dawn Wilson

Jacqueline Alyse Wilson

Charter Members

Cynthia Adams

Carolyn Mills-Allen

Cleo Johnson Cole

Carroll Ann King Ellis

Doris. G. Carey 

Joan M. Jones

Cynthia P. Laurie

Shirley Lee Painter Lilly

Laurabelle Elizabeth Loper-Hope

Arthurine Nixon-Bishop

Janet Wilkerson Peoples

Fanchon Peters

Sara E. Roye 

Viola Jones Scott

Mildred Gore Stansbury

Alethia Brockington Starke

Kelly Adams-Tate 

Audrey L. Giles White

Anita Williams